The Ranting Kraut

19.3.2006 – 27.9.2010

O’Reilly’s Code

Posted by rantingkraut on April 10, 2007

A Little Fable

“Alas,” said the mouse, “the whole world is growing smaller every day. At the beginning it was so big that I was afraid, I kept running and running, and I was glad when I saw walls far away to the right and left, but these long walls have narrowed so quickly that I am in the last chamber already, and there in the corner stands the trap that I must run into.”

“You only need to change your direction,” said the cat, and ate it up.

(Franz Kafka)

Tim O’Reilly has drafted a code of conduct he would like bloggers to adopt and has also designed a very ugly batch he would like them to display. Most of what needs to be said about this has been said (see here and here). I will add just one point:

O’Reilly links his code with a badge labelled ‘civility enforced’. My concern is that once one such code is widely accepted, others will follow. Those others may not be voluntary any longer –at least not in all countries. Add the fact that some people have very odd ideas of what constitutes civility, then imagine where this may lead…

One Response to “O’Reilly’s Code”

  1. [...] also: O’Reilly’s Code Abgelegt unter: Philosophie, Über Weblogs, Ethik Stichworte: Code of Conduct, Discrimination, [...]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

